top of page
Search

Dirty Pensions

Updated: Mar 21, 2021



Derbyshire County Council invests £146 million in fossil fuels through its pension funds. I don’t know about you, but to me that is a lot of money. This is well above the national average.



Pensions are supposed to be an investment for the future, not actively working towards ruining it.


This is crazy, but you haven’t heard the half of it. These funds lose money. Lots of money, our money. £65 million between 2017 and 2020.


My friend and fellow Green candidate Frank explains it very well here.


I’m no financial whizz, but I do have a SIPP (Self-Invested Personal Pension), which enables me to choose where my money is invested. It is currently in 18 different funds; not one of which has lost money in the way DCC’s dirty investments have.


As a councillor I will do whatever I can to divert our money to environmentally and economically sane investments.


When we as Greens propose expensive-sounding policies, like expanding bus services, we are always asked: how do you propose to pay for it? Well, we could double Derbyshire’s bus subsidy for ten years and have change left over, for what we have thrown away on stupid investments in three.


Promoted by JOHN HILL, 103 MAYFIELD ROAD, ASHBOURNE, DE6 1AS on behalf of the GREEN PARTY, The Biscuit Factory A Block (201), 100 Clements Road, London, SE16 4DG

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page